Thursday, 24 November,
9:00 PMo

at Teatro Cucinelli, Solome
choreography and lighting design
Saburo Teshigawara

in collaboration with Rihoko Sato

dancers Saburo TeshigawaraRihoko Sato

costume design Saburo TeshigawaraRihoko Sato

music Gustav Mahler, Ludwig van Beethoven, J.S. Bach, W.A. Mozart, Sergei Rachmaninoff, Maurice Ravel, Anton Bruckner

photography Akihito Abe

production KARAS

created on 13 November 2021 at KARAS APPARATUS, Tokyo, Japan

The 2022 tour is supported by the Agency for Cultural Affairs of the Government of Japan

A revised version of Adagio is to be presented for Teatro Cucinelli in Solomeo.

The music of Mahler, Beethoven, Bach, Mozart, Rachmaninoff and Ravel — their adagios — accompany the latest work of Saburo Teshigawara, one of the most relevant choreographers and dancers of the international dance scene and winner of the Leone d’Oro for lifetime achievement at the 2022 Venice Biennale. As if in ritual, the Japanese performing artist alternates and blends his motion and movement with those of his “muse” and longtime collaborator Rihoko Sato.

When I am dancing an adagio, my body melts and my heart is floating in space to dissolve into nothingness. The words slowly evaporate and, when even reality and the thoughts go away, I feel like I am living life and death.”

Saburo Teshigawara

other events

Non ci sono spettacoli

Iscriviti per essere sempre aggiornato sulle novità e gli eventi del Teatro Cucinelli

Teatro Cucinelli

© 2023 Fondazione Brunello e Federica Cucinelli

© 2023 Fondazione Brunello e Federica Cucinelli